Unbelievable vegan key lime pie

Guys, I worked real hard on this one, but I’m sooooo happy with how it turned out! The base was straightforward, but I struggled with the creamy top.I really wanted to avoid soaking a load of cashews, because they are not cheap. What I came up with was a mixture of coconut cream (the firm part out of the can) and soaked oats (leftover from making oat milk), which makes a delicious and firm topping, and isn’t as sickly and rich as pure coconut cream. This would work really nicely in a small loose-bottomed tin or even better mini ones, but I don’t have any of those. I don’t even have ramekins,  man. So, I found some martini glasses at the back of the cupboard of the house I’m renting, and made the pies in there. If you want to make them like a real pie, it will be fine and the topping will hold its shape. Anyway, everyone has absolutely lost their mind over these babies, and nobody would guess that they are plant-based and refined sugar free. Total showstopper.

Ready in 20 minutes + half an hour chilling

Serves 4

FOR THE CRUMBLY GINGERNUT BASE

  • 50g oats
  • 50g nuts/seeds of your choice ( I use the cheapest)
  • 50g raisins
  • A pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp. ground ginger
  • A small slice of fresh ginger (bigger if you like a bit of fire from your ginger)

FOR THE CREAMY, DREAMY, LIME TOPPING

  • The solid bit from a tin of coconut milk (my  coconut milk is always separated anyway, but apparently you can put the tin in the fridge to make this happen)
  • 100g oats
  • The zest and juice of 2 limes

METHOD

  • Get your oats soaking in water for 15 minutes
  • To crack on with the base, start by adding your nuts/seeds to the food processor and blitz up until fine. Finely chop your fresh ginger, and add it along with all the other base ingredients to the food processor. Whizz it up until it’s all well combined and sticking together.
  • Split the dough into 4 and press it into the serving vessel of your choice. You can either do cheesecake-style flat base, or make a crust around the sides too. You can reserve a little bit to sprinkle on top like I did in the picture if you like.
  • Strain your oats through a sieve and throw in to a blender. Add in the coconut cream, the juice of both limes, and the zest of 1 and a half limes (the last half will go on top for decoration). Blend until smooth, and spread onto your bases.
  • Top with the excess crumbled base, lime zest, and a mint leaf if you’re feelin’ retro like me.
  • Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes to firm up
  • Pretend you’re Nigella Lawson
7 Comments Add yours

  1. Rhythm says:

    I am trying this out soon 😀 loved it thanks for the share.

    Like

    1. I really hope you do, and let me know how it goes! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rhythm says:

        Yeah for sure I will come back with feedback 😀

        Like

  2. luxenow says:

    This sounds sooo good 😍 definitely going to have to try this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yayyy I hope you will! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks! I just checked out your blog and am so excited to see a derma roller review! Have been wanting to try

      Like

Leave a Reply

