Super easy mexican beans on toast

Ok, ok, I’m sure you don’t need any more reasons to buy avocado, but this has been such a hit with my friends that I thought I’d share the recipe nonetheless. It’s a lovely little complete meal for brunch, lunch, or supper, with good brown bread, protein-packed beans, and some healthy fat from the avo. Having said that, the beautiful smoky beans make a delicious topping for toast in their own right- and are tastier and healthier than a in of beans from the supermarket. This meal is one of life’s most simple pleasures.

Serves 2

Ready in 10 minutes

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 chunky slices of nice bread (I like brown & seeded)
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Tin of black eyes beans
  • About 5 tbsp. passatta
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. smoked paprika
  • Splash of balsamic vinegar
  • 6-8 cherry tomatoes
  • Squeeze of lemon
  • 1 avocado (optional)

METHOD

  • Finely chop the garlic and fry in a splash of oil in a frying pan.
  • Drain  the beans and add to the pan with  the spices and passatta. Fry and heat through, mashing a quarter of the beans in the pan with the back of a fork.This will make everything combine and ‘stick’ together nicely.
  • Chop the fresh tomatoes into quarters and add to the pan with the vinegar.
  • Whilst this heats through, pop your bread into the toaster.Slice the avocado.
  • Pile your hot beans onto the toast, and lay slices of avocado (if using) on top. Squeeze over a little lemon juice, and tuck in happily.
7 Comments Add yours

  1. That looks just like something I might do! Those are all ingredients I love, thought I didn’t know that until I looked up “passatta” as I’d never heard of it before. Yummy, easy recipe. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Kathryn 🙂

      Like

  2. This puts a new meaning on beans on toast – a very clever and tasty recipe for quick weeknight dinners – definitely something I will try!

    Like

    1. Awesome, I hope you enjoy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’ve just tried the and I love it, very tasty, thankyou

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! You’re more than welcome 😊

      Like

    2. Anonymous says:

      I love this meal, really tasty, I also pop a poached egg on the top .thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

